Sew Fabulous Sewing | Week 1

Week 1

Patterns + Pinning

8:30AM : Wake Up + Thank the Lord!

9:00AM – 9:30AM : Breakfast + Schedule Update.

10:00AM – 12:00PM : Sew Fabulous Sewing Class.

Walking into class excited and eager, I couldn’t wait to put the petal to the metal, and get to stitching!

Little did I know, I wouldn’t be anywhere close to touching my machine during today’s class session. It was literally back to the basics today.

Mrs. Margaret started off class with running over some key must haves and pointers to go by when starting a new project. Everything from picking the right size patterns and fabrics, to knowing about different needle and machine foot sizes. (It’s okay, I didn’t know a sewing machine had a foot either.) None the less, I picked up on things pretty quickly.

SIDE NOTE: I’m keeping a sewing Notebook to record my current, and future sewing projects and ideas. Stay tuned for pictures and snapshots from that.

After her brief wrap up, Mrs. Margaret pointed us towards the work tables, and it was time to get down to business. Fabric and pattern (so I thought) in tow, I was ready to get started!

Laying the fabric across the work station, I lined up the edges, received my correct measurements and was all ready to go (so I thought) While searching through my bag for the dress pattern, it had dawned on me that I had left the packaging on the kitchen table (SMH) What the h*** was I thinking? I lived 25 minutes away, and class was already a half an hour in. I had no other choice but to run and get a last minute pattern. Luckily, there is a Jo-Ann Fabrics 10 minutes away from the school! Able to find a cuter, more intriguing pattern, me forgetting my original design was somehow a blessing in disguise.

Drama and chaos aside, I had my pattern in hand, and fabric laid out – my new project was underway!

Due to time restraints, I wasn’t able to cut out my pattern pieces. But it’s okay, I can jump right into it next class!

HOMEWORK: Pick up 1/2 yard of plain cotton fabric to use as a liner.


Stay Tuned for Week 2!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

